Red Rum – A Makeup Look

Red Rum Red Rum Red Rum

IMG_5002Inspired by this classic line from one of my all time favourite films, “The Shining,” this look takes a twist on the classic liner  we have all become too used to. This look is uber easy to achieve so I hope you enjoy!

I started this look with my face makeup already applied. I find it unnecessary to walk you through this step as everyone has their own personal skincare and face routine, however, I will kindly reply to any questions or concerns you have in regards to my makeup down below in the comments.IMG_4871

After prepping my eyes with my usual eye routine (Urban Decay Primer Potion and Lancome eyeshadow in the shade “M102 Beige NU”) I apply one of my favourite shades of all time to my entire lid, Estée Lauder’s Pure Colour Eyeshadow in the shade “Ginger Drop.”IMG_4904

Now for the star of the show, the red liner. For this, I used an Urban Decay lip-liner in the shade “Wonderland,” and an angled liner brush. IMG_4913

Like I said before, less is more for this bold but simplistic look. I applied no eyeshadow or mascara to my bottom lashline, but I did use the second shadow in my Estée Lauder duo kit in the shade, “Vanilla,” just on the inner corner of my eye.IMG_4928

I applied a just a light coat of mascara to my top lashes. Of course, this is optional, so throw on those falsies if it feels right to you! And that’s the eye look done!IMG_4930

For the lips, I came up with two very different, but equally gorgeous combos. The first is for those of you who want to wear this look in the daytime. This glossy, orange lip is super easy but gives you an effortless “girl next door” vibe. I used M.A.C’s “Nice to be Nice,” from their Hello Kitty collection.IMG_4944IMG_4950

The second lip combo is most definitely for those of you on the dare-devil side. Not only is Bobbi Brown’s “Bordeaux” a perfect match for this eyeliner, but it is also reminiscent of the classically, vintage scarlet lip I oso love. IMG_4967IMG_4974

And that’s it! I hope you enjoyed my take on winged liner and can only dream that I’ve inspired someone to try this look out for yourself. I hope you have a wonderful day and for now, that’s all from me!

-Lara x

2 thoughts on “Red Rum – A Makeup Look

  1. Jammeh says:

    Wow. What a lovely look. I find it really cool how simple yet so elegant it is. I can even imagine this kind of look on an editorial magazine. I also like how versatile it is, like yiu can dress it down or amp it up so easily. 😃
    You have really gorgeous skin as well.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ellelara says:

      Thank you so much for the lovely comment! I’m so happy you think this, I was definitely aiming for an effortless look that is still eye catching, no matter how it’s styled! Thanks again for such kind words x

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

